Have Healthy Your Way!

Today, there is a wealth of information and resources to help us lead healthy lives. With so much information, it can seem overwhelming when trying to decide on the best healthy approach. Yet, many of us get so overwhelmed that the information causes “no-action” paralysis — we have so much information that we can’t decide and end up doing nothing. Well, doing nothing is the worst approach to take. Any step towards being healthy, is a good start.

Living a healthy life isn’t complicated; you just have to make it work for you. I’ve followed a healthy diet and lifestyle for over three decades. And, you might ask: was it hard and how did you do it? Initially, it was hard. Especially, during family gatherings, when I was the only one, at the table, who passed on the meat dishes. And, then having to explain to all the relatives that I don’t eat meat. And, despite the moments of feeling like an outcast, I fully committed myself to a healthy lifestyle.

At the beginning of my journey, I took all the health information and resources I had gathered, and adapted it to my way of living. In other words, I made healthy work for me. My way of healthy may not work for some, but it has worked for me.

To have healthy my way, I adopted the following strategies into my healthy way of living:

  • Don’t give up your ethnic foods – Each of us have foods that are unique to our ethnic backgrounds. Many of these traditional foods are unhealthy, but we can make them healthy by reducing the sodium, sugar, and high fat contents.
  • Eat plenty of salads – this is an easy meal to prepare, which provides a good source of vitamins and minerals.
  • Eat less red meat and pork – although these meats are a good source of protein, they have been linked to colon cancer and high blood pressure. I’ve eliminated both from my diet.
  • Read the labels – pay close attention to nutrition labels — even some foods that claim to be healthy are high in sodium, sugar, and fat.
  • Eat fresh – add fresh fruits and vegetables to your diet daily, if your budget can afford it. If not, then frozen and canned vegetables are better than anything that comes out of a box.
  • Drink more water and fruit juices; less sodas – it can be difficult at times to drink the recommended eight glasses of water, and may seem easier to just grab a soda. But, when healthier choices are available, go for healthy.
  • Stay focused and committed – maintaining a healthy diet and lifestyle takes persistence and consistency. Remember, the seeds of good health that you plant today, will grow and blossom, for you to reap the benefits, as you get older.
  • Get Moving – exercise is vital to a healthy lifestyle. Find an activity that works best for you, and do it often — you’ll be amazed at how great you feel.
Leave a Reply

